THE INTELLIGENT SINGAPOREAN

Powered by the Plogosphere

TGIF

Posted by inspir3d on September 8, 2006

“George’s Brave New World” Twilight, “How George Yeo’s foray into the unfamiliar world of blogs has helped Singaporeans find their inner chaplin”

“A Nation in Crisis” KTM “The KTM just read a very disturbing blog entry. The crux of this entry is about a local undergraduate complaining that the Singaporean undergrads are being “crowded out” by foreign students for the better grades and advocating the imposition of quotas to help alleviate the situation.”

43 Responses to “TGIF”

  1. Brain Dead said

    George’s Brave New World:

    ““Your first few posts are interesting,” says celebrity blogger Mr Wang, profoundly enlightened and impressed at the novelty of Mr Yeo’s ‘Mass at Punggol’s Nativity Church’. “I dare say they will go in the annals of history as some of the finest pieces of writing ever conjured,” he did not add.”

    Did Mr Wang said the above? Especially on “I dare say they will go in the annals of history as some of the finest pieces of writing ever conjured”.

    I am puzzled.

  2. Brain Dead said

    George’s Brave New World:

    ““Your first few posts are interesting,” says celebrity blogger Mr Wang, profoundly enlightened and impressed at the novelty of Mr Yeo’s ‘Mass at Punggol’s Nativity Church’. “I dare say they will go in the annals of history as some of the finest pieces of writing ever conjured,” he did not add.”

    Did Mr Wang say the above? Especially on “I dare say they will go in the annals of history as some of the finest pieces of writing ever conjured”.

    I am puzzled.

  3. Guardian of the book of ages said

    He is a military man is he not – so he has obvious made the calculations. Is it rational? Time will tell. Or perhaps it doesnt really matter – history will only remember him as the first who did what others never dared to do.

    For this we applaud his courage.

    He shall earn a place in the brotherhood’s book of ages – he will be mentioned in our annals.

    Long live the brotherhood!

  4. anonite said

    I beg to differ. All this blogging business by a PAP minister is well planned in advance.

  5. Harphoon said

    Whatever it is sarr-harh-bath, he displays equilibrium, right?

  6. guardian of the book of ages said

    Harphoon,

    It is sweet sadaherin you see me as a brother who you choose to learn from.

    Let me tell you, I will further you education in our ways.

    Yes, you are absolutely right it is his perfect equilibrium which disturbs me my protege. Too confident. Why?

    I see plans within plans within plans within plans.

  7. pumpman said

    plans within plans within plans -sounds like something darkie would say. I came here to learn could you pls explain SHB?

  8. Harphoon said

    Pumpman,

    The term “plans within plans within plans” has it’s origins in a sci-fi book written by frank herbert. Darkness took it out from there – lock, stock and barrel.

    It refers to a mode of subliminal state of communication – which takes place at a subsconscious level. Hence the term plans within plans within plans.

    I think what the chronicler is trying to say (if I am correct) is the general is attempting to communicate at a subconscious level to perhaps connect with all of us in blogoshpere – he is trying to cut through the noise of party politics and more importantly the propaganda machine – he is trying to come across as real? Sincere? Authentic?

    Am I right? I think we should all cut the chronicler some slack. His cosca is after all the most profitable in the strangelands and they always manage to turn a tidy profit.

    Perhaps we should try to learn from him instead of flaming him all the time.

  9. prospero said

    I think to be very honest – he is just trying to connect – I remembered somewhere during the 40’s president Roosevelt (one of the most popular politicians in US history) used to have his fire side chats which were then broadcast over the air waves. It was such a hit because 90%, he didnt talk abt politics and that was a novelty – a politician who doesnt see the need to be a politician.

    My 2 cents

  10. Hehe..

    Sorry to interrupt this secret discussion.

    I certainly hope Yeo meant it to be a “chat” and not a one-sided broadcast of his personal side.

    Frankly, I’m not that interested in his personal side. He’s not exactly Brad Pitt. And yes, I understand he is sincere, real and authentic. We didn’t pay peanuts to get a robot as foreign minister to represent our nation.

    I was told by one that he was a great thinker and a visionary. I am waiting to be impressed.

  11. puppylover said

    Words are very powerful indeed. Many years ago, I used to secretly subscribe to the 4 bit weekly episodes written by your leader darkness. It was my first year at work and at some point I just had this curious idea, he was just writing to me and me alone. Pls dont misunderstand me, I knew that was not possible, but I still thought it like that. And when I am in the act of reading in this comfortable suspense his confessions as a gangster. For a brief moment, I belong to a group neither as big as a statistically significant sample nor as small as the naked self. It’s a group of two, darkness, the faithful writer and me, the trusting reader. We’re different but the same. Words are very powerful indeed.

    If it wasnt powerful, I dont think the brotherhood would be so bothered by why he is blogging. They know this is only the tip of the iceberg.

  12. chronicler said

    FC boys,

    I do see “plans within plans with plans” but above all I see alot of $ in the making, perhaps 4 to 5 mil, if we play our cards right.

  13. Atomic Monkey said

    He is trying to be wabi-sabi – just around the time eramus invented the first haversack to walk around europe educating ppl – there was this jap who started the wabi-sabi movement – it isnt a fruit, object or even any where near a school of thought – but wabi-sabi is about fray cuffs, chipped porcelian and old slippers, it’s about the beauty of familiarity – he is trying to wabi-sabi use.

    I agree this is a deeper level of communication, what he is trying to do is disassociated himself from the PAP image and project himself as an individual.

    It’s a brilliant strategy – either way it works out win / win. For one he doesnt need to say anything substantive or even remotely intelligent, all he needs to do is be there – as long as he is there, the illusion remains real. I think when I wake up every morning and see the wabi-sabi starring at me in the mirror – I have to agree it is a brilliant strategy.

    Chronicler you know what is happening rite? Plans within plans within plans.

    Btw is that rupiah or yen?

  14. chronicler said

    Here is the deal, we can earn abt 4 to 5 sg $ – no joke my cosca has done the computations. Its better than building space stations.

    I am sarr-harr-bath. You think it is easy to be the chronicler, it aint. It is the toughest job in the universe.

    The definition of “plans within plans within plans”

    Now we know why G.Yeo is doing the things he does. This remains a secret message capsule FC boys. I have shared it with only you. It is a secret account. I know everything.

    There is only one warning – do not read this if you choose your life to remain the same. I have warned you all.

    This conversation takes place on board the Niberian class starship cruiser “Liberati” somewhere in the Andromeda system. Primus time: 9872347/ Decima. Pg 520/521 The Book of Ages, from the “conversations of the man called darkness” 9870-0-39238764 See also reference on def on the terminology sinister: “I see plans within plans within plans” FH & “I know why people write and why they read” ST .

    “Listen carefully to what I have to say. I offer you the reason why a person writes and why another reads”

    “I am not sure I follow.”

    “You know of Kafka?”

    “Yes, metamorphosis, but not well enough to know what your point is all about.”

    “OK let’s use that as a tag, a place of reference an X which marks the spot then. One year before he died, Kafka goes out for a walk in the park in Berlin. He chances a little girl crying her eyes out. He goes through the process of asking and the girl explains – she has lost her doll – she is irreconcilable

    Kafka decides at this point to do something quite extraordinary – he invents a storyline, straight from the top of his head – the doll isn’t lost, she has gone off on a trip to seek a change in scenery – the girl doesn’t buy the story, she is suspicious and ask, how do you know – Kafka sensing her suspicion says, because the doll has written a letter to him – the girl demands to see the letter.

    What happens after is an extraordinary chain of events. Kafka returns to his desk that night and writes, as Dora his companion watches him write she notices the same seriousness to which he has dedicated himself to this deception. This isn’t a simple yarn, it’s a piece of literary labor to supplant the girls loss with a different reality.

    The next day Kafka meets the girl in the park and produces the letter – the doll is very sorry, but she has grown tired of living with the same people all her life and seeks a life of her own. The doll apologizes for leaving abruptly in the way she did, but promises in future to write daily about the events of her daily life.

    That’s where the story begins to break my heart. It’s astonishing enough that Kafka took the trouble to write the first letter, but now he commits himself to the project of writing a new letter everyday for the next four weeks! What kind of man does a thing like that? Would you write a letter to a complete stranger? Once maybe, but four weeks? Think about because I am going to come back to it.

    Remember one of the most brilliant writers of our time – so for the rest of the four weeks the dolls grows up, goes to school, gets to know people and even manages a spot of piano lessons – one day the doll meets a fine prince during a concert, she is of course wearing the same vermillion colored silk dress which she ran away with. At this point, Kafka hints the life of the doll is getting complicated and she may not be able to return home, though she sends her love.

    In the last week Kafka struggles to come up with an ending, one which would not break the magic spell he has so created. In one tour de force, he paints a scene where the prince sweeps the doll off her feet during a waltz and words such as “forevermore” were used and they sealed their union as man and wife with a sappy kiss. In the last line Kafka mentions, the dolls bids farewell to her beloved friend.

    By that point the spell has spun it’s last turn and the girl no misses the doll.

    Get it?”

    “I don’t understand darkness.”

    The man lowers his head and walks towards the largest window of the star cruiser, pressing a button the blast shutters slowly glide upwards revealing the great expanse of the Andromeda system. A galaxy cartwheeled slowly in the distance, his eye drawn instinctively to the mysteries of it’s inner core which sparkled with a million starburst of flickering diamonds.

    For a while neither man spoke as they gazed at the unimaginable beauty of space. Then turning towards his companion, the man with the scar said,

    “You see, she has a story, and when a person is lucky enough to live inside a story, a live inside an imaginary world, the pains of this world disappear. For as long as the story goes on, reality no longer exists.”

    0925-7-1324765

  15. harphoon said

    4 to 5 mil. I see only green, we all systems go chronicler – we will go with yr cosca on this project.

  16. dudu said

    ha ha ha ha, sorry I fell off my chair after reading your entry Mr Chronicler. I see thigs haven’t changed after so many years. The brotherhood is still a bunch of intellects studying shadows throw on the wall in a cave. I even bet there is a library carrel in this cave lol (jest, I simply jest)

    Darkness is still talking like a fortune cookie, Harpoon is still playing catch up as for the chimp, he is still complaining why scholars dont get three or four bites at the proverbial cherry (do take in good spirits as I jest only)

    On a serious note, I happen to be a professional psychologist and I can assure you Minister Yeo is definitely not blogging because he sees it simply as a matter of plans within plans within plans etc.

    I do agree with darkness in the last part of his space conversation (btw who was the other person, it has got to be Jdam, bc if I remember accurately, he was a bit slow) some people may find cyberspace appealing because it is a refuge from the oppresion of everyday reality. However losing oneself in a story is all together a very different cup of tea. I am not denying for one moment the validity of this statement. It happens. On the contrary, the great writers often had a tradition of reclusivity, think J.D. Salinger and say no more. Only it is a complex matter that goes beyond the Kafka’s metaphor although I am amused he managed to see it from that angle mmmmmmmmmh.

    btw where may I respectfully ask is darkness? Or has his left the matter of defending what he once wrote to his minions?

    Shame on you boys. Do keep it up though.

  17. dudu said

    I am sure you all know what the imagery of a galaxy rotating in space means from a jungian thematic pov? I am sure darkness would know – if so do tell.

  18. harphoon said

    “btw where may I respectfully ask is darkness? Or has his left the matter of defending what he once wrote to his minions?”

    I am happy to note dudu you found the sharing most enlightening – darkness is currently unavaliable for the time being – we will have to keep you abreast of his situation on a need to know basis.

  19. JDAM said

    Understand this! If you all want to go with the chronicler to produce this movie, that is fine with me. Only remember, I was the closest person to darkness. I knew him better than any of you. You want to know why the 4 bit episode series he once wrote was such a commercial success? Bfr I go into it, let us agree on a few points, it was a ridiculously written yarn. I have never in my life read so much shit before and as for the plot it will simply go down into history as one of the greatest unexplained literary oddities. Despite it’s obvious misgivings, it still proved a success and darkness made a lot of $ from it. This begs the question why? Gentlemen we really need to spend sometime thinking abt this instead of rushing into this whole business. Why?

    To answer this question you all need to understand why the brotherhood will never ever blog? Or even see the need too ever do so. Is it so difficult to set up a blog? No but the reason why we don’t blog is because we want to retain the spirit of the underground. Sure we will probably have to go around like nomads from site to site and even get kicked out occasionally, but that has always been the appeal of the brotherhood. This whole idea of being here one day and getting kicked out tomorrow is very much a brotherhood thing. Those women who all subscribed to the 4 bit series never ever knew whether we would always be in one place, the uncertainty of checking the site daily and discovering that we have all suddenly left was a gigantic draw point that amplified the underground quality – don’t ever forget it – of course wherever we went, we left them enough bread crumbs to find us, but what cannot be underestimated for one moment was this was precisely one of the reasons why the 4 bit series proved so successful – it was underground – being an underground entity is the direct opposite of something commercially driven – you really think those subscribers read those ridiculous episodes because they were well written? You must be joking they didn’t. Most of them simply wanted to be associated with an underground movement, they all derive a thrill from being associated with the ultimate bad boy darkness who was trying very hard to make good in a world where the chips were simply stacked against him – they were routing for him – do you really think the brotherhood will be where it is if we all decided to go mainstream? Our appeal has always been in the underground. If we are going to be successful in this animation project – the same thing needs to be repeated – for one it has to be an underground project not a Hollywood blockbuster – it’s got to be cheap, tacky with a strong after taste of the underground and whatever you all do pls do not spend too much money or get sponsors or the govt involved, that would be the kiss of death –we don’t need all that nonsense – the chronicler comes up with a figure of 4 to 5 million straight from the top of his head, but these projections don’t really tell us how much money we first need to plough into the initial set up. Bear in mind there is a conflict of interest here, you are all forgetting one thing his cosca will be doing all the animation, so it is to his interest to spend as much money as possible coming out with the product, whether it is successful or not doesn’t really matter to him, because he would have creamed off the profits from just coming out with the animation it’self. Think Harphoon – frankly, I am not going to invest on Shekelian into this project, simply because it is stupid – we don’t need to come up with one cent to launch this whole project if we are really savvy and smart about it – because we can always get our subscribers to pay in advance first. I am not stupid, neither am I dumb otherwise darkness wouldn’t have spent so much time with him, just remember that – it’s got to be underground. The brotherhood is a secret organization, that is why we all communicate using a single line stupid – if the authorities try to trace us this IP goes to one warehouse somewhere in Xilin Ave – do you all get the deal now? We are underground so why r we all listening to the chronicler and his bs abt going mainstream?

  20. chronicler said

    FC boyz,

    I admit, I am a slimeball, but I have trying to reform myself. All these years of politicking in Primus has had a toll on me.

    JDAM is right. Do you all notice darkness is with JDAM all the time? We may all be with him, but who is the one who he really trust, JDAM. I am not saying for one moment JDAM is the anointed one, but have you all wondered why the father of the game would spend so much time with the least educated person in the brotherhood? JDAM isn’t like the rest of us, for one he doesn’t have a degree, masters or phd, his highest qualification is a diploma, but despite his apparent limitations, darkness still cultivated his friendship. Many in the brotherhood have asked why would such an intelligent man do this?

    You see FC boyz when I was a young kid, I have always wanted to live a moral life, till I read the story of Esau and Jacob in the bible. There was Esau the dumbo simpleton. By all rights Isaacs blessing should be his. But Jacob tricks him out of it with the help of his mother, no less.

    Lagi worse God seems to approve of the whole arrangement. That cunning slimeball Jacob goes on to be the leader of the jews and Esau is left holding a bag.

    This story caused me a lot of problems when I was growing up, I never realized what God meant by all his politicking – till of course, I myself became a politician in Primus.

    I am saying Jacob had verve, he had drive, the killer instinct to succeed, while Esau was simply as simpleton dumbo. Good hearted, I do not doubt but terminally set in his ways. Now I wondered to myself, if God is going to choose a leader who would he choose a good hearted dumbo or a man like Jacob?

    My point is simply this, I believed darkness was a practical leader, he saw the cunning in JDAM, he knew he wasn’t a graduate, but he never ever looked downed on his capacity to deliver – it is a well known fact, JDAM climbed only with darkness and not even with Harpoon or the rest of us – they also fellowshipped often and the father of the game was often seen listening attentively to him – I wonder why?

    I am not saying darkness was Adolf Hitler, only he recognized in this world there were men of action and those who only talk a lot and did very little – he considered JDAM the former – he saw the drive in this self made millionaire who runs a very profitable hardware business in the real world – when we find a man with spirit and drive we simply have to give him his due – this has always been our way, the biggest dog leads – there is still hope – I am going with JDAM, my cosca will relinquish all the animation to a third party, we will outsource it and we will make the books open – rest assured, I simply want to reform myself and be a better person and see us all suceed – we will go with JDAM’s proposal.

    As for Esau he was good hearted, but what kind I really say? Good guys always come out last.

  21. Atomic Monkey said

    Absolutely agree, we should never rush into this and try to be something we are obvious not.

    This reminds of a case study during the 60’s when NASA directed their best brains to develop a writing instrument for astronauts. Ordinary ball points don’t work in zero gravity. They put their best scientist on the job, spent millions and came out with countless prototypes and failed big time.

    The Russians on the other hand had a more practical approach. They spent an equivalent of 10 cents! – they used a pencil – if you really think abt it, it writes just as well and when things get stressful, it chews better.

    I vote we go with Jdam.

    As for getting kicked out, if it happens, it will be the 1,000,001 time, so it doesn’t really matter, we will simply adapt and overcome.

  22. Harphoon said

    “As for getting kicked out, if it happens, it will be the 1,000,001 time, so it doesn’t really matter, we will simply adapt and overcome.”

    Bear in mind, our longest association with any site was with icered.com, because we shared a common vision with Tim aka bossman. We took the trouble to align our goals with his and vice-versa – that was to build the best forum in Asia, while we just wanted to make $ – when Tim cashed out and sold off Icered to bagua.com, we lost a business partner – bear this in mind, Tim was also the one who made the brotherhood big in Hong Kong, we have more subscribers there than in Singapore!

    When the new owners came in to the scene, they didn’t even want to see us, they dished us, “who the &&^%&%$@# is this brudderhood nonsensical crappy de la crepe” – they started banning our 4 bit stories, worse still, they came up with their own cantonpop copy cat version – but the bullet that really finished them off was their Harvard Business School off the shelve strategy of how to grow a virtual business online – Their first mistake was they categorized people as fishes into top, middle and bottom swimmers, so they set about building a Las Vegas fish tank and populating it with colorful species of fishes – any thing that didn’t quite fit into the master plan was gutted and flushed down the tubes – the brotherhood didn’t feature in their scheme of things, they considered us a bunch of barracuda’s, so they kicked all the so called “undesirables” out– by removing one element and supplanting it with another, they played Russian roulette, only this time, little did they realize, it was the extinction end game – eventually icered.com committed virtual hara-kiri , everyone left it resembled one of those sad dusty towns in the mid west where all the buildings are still there, but no one is around.

    Now I don’t know very much abt Tim, he was quite a shadowy figure himself, what I do know is somewhere around Sept 2003, darkness and him did met in HK to hammer out a few ideas on how to grow the 4bit story business.

    Darkness mentioned Tim had this gigantic aquarium in his apartment and during the course of the discussion he used it as a metaphor to explain why it is best to just let things be sometimes – he mentioned, every living thing in that aquarium depends on something else, it’s like one giant wheel of life, we don’t see it because it is so small but that doesn’t mean some great law isn’t working mysteriously arranging everything into neat compartments – Tim went on to mention nature knows best and, if he even so much as dropped a golf ball into this ecological system, it may even have an unforeseeable impact on events – so his approach was to simply sit back and let things just unfold.

    Now he is not saying for one moment, if he sees a particularly aggressive species taking over a quadrant of the tank, he ain’t going slide in a glass wall to separate the babies from the predators to give nature a fighting chance or if he suddenly sees an outbreak of white spots, he ain’t going to put a few drops of iodine into the water – he will, only his approach is to grow the business and not manage it – there is a big difference, this means recognizing people will always remain people, they don’t just talk sense all the time, or even choose to discuss your topics, they joke, cry and even go off the tangent and some may even think they are fighting to save the world, but that is beauty of diversity, you don’t own it anymore than a fish enthusiast owns the fishes in his tank – as Loa Tze once said, “I admiring the butterfly, but perhaps he is admiring me too”. Do correct me if I am wrong Anon.

    After writing this for 20 min, I need to log off and board my plane now besides my boss is giving me that all too familiar “I know you are not working” look – only I leave you with this snippet:

    Tim the hippy programmer who came to Hong Kong with $3.00, a swiss army knife and a lousy haircut eventually sold off ice-red.com for over USD1.6 million to Bagua.com. No one has any idea where he is right now.

  23. scholarbrother said

    To the inconsiderate SOB, Stop hogging the single line – I have been trying to post for the last 3 hours! If you want to surf pls use your own RL!

    My only concern is the approach, JDAM says it was a lousy story line, I don’t agree – those 4 bit stories were just the right length and the pacing was just perfect. However one point:

    We all know based on Tim’s feedback, there were generally two types of readers who subscribed to the 4 bit episodes?

    The first is the one who reads and knows full well it is simply entertainment. These readers generally posted, “why is the third wife wearing pink lipstick and green mascara, doesn’t darkness knows it does match!” They were also the ones who kept insisting this or that character wasn’t realistic etc. To them it was only entertainment. This segment formed perhaps only 15% of the readers.

    Then there are the closeted readers. This people don’t read for enjoyment, they do so because it is a means of validating their sense of existence. They need to read like health freaks need to jog and drug addicts need their needles. They are usually the shy, they are also the ones who used to follow us wherever we all went. They’re even here right now always reading silently but never ever once posting. This is very much a brotherhood phenomenon.

    Darkness referred to them as the “watchers” – he didn’t write to the loud mouth auntie who kept nagging why the third wife only had only one change of cheong sam. He wrote to the watchers because they were the silent 85%.

    No one likes to admit they are different, we all like to pretend we are picture perfect, I do it all the time myself and so do you, but the accidental hero in the 4 bit stories was shy, unsure, morose, but above all he was a watcher himself.

    What happens when you take that sense of being different into an imaginary world and because it is world you can neither share with your friends or your loved one’s. Then the authors though they are not present become your community.

    When one watcher read the testimony of another watcher, they step out momentarily from their bubble of everyday existence, they say, “wow, I feel like that too?” – time stops when a watcher reads, she is unaware of her own sense of vulnerability. She may feel a wave of shame after but for that moment, she steps out of herself and into another persons shoes, it could well be the third wife’s – it’s the same reason why the condemned are allowed the last puff or why a string quartered played on the deck of the titanic just before her death keel – it’s a crie de cour: as Goethe writes in “Faust” – “Presence is our duty, be it only a moment.”

    And this leads me to my point FC boys:
    How do you all expect to do this with a cartoon animation? You are all unrealistic.

  24. Atomic Monkey said

    scholarbro,

    One down and two to go:

    (1) Planet of the apes

    (2) Return of the body snatchers.

    Btw do you happen to have plan B scholarbro? Or are do you just shoot down ideas with out offering any alternatives?

  25. scholarman said

    I have been trying to post for the last 3 hours, if you want to surf pls use your own RL! Do not hog the single line feeder. I am posting this for the second time, it got blanked for whatever reason. I hope monkey you are not censoring me?

    My only concern is the approach, JDAM says it was a lousy story line, I don’t agree – those 4 bit stories were just the right length and the pacing was just perfect. However one point:

    We all know based on Tim’s feedback, there were generally two types of readers who subscribed to the 4 bit episodes?

    The first is the one who reads and knows full well it is simply entertainment. These readers generally posted, “why is the third wife wearing pink lipstick and green mascara, doesn’t darkness knows it will clash!” They were also the ones who kept insisting this or that character wasn’t realistic etc. To them it was only entertainment. This segment formed perhaps only 15% of the readers.

    Then there are the closeted readers. This people don’t read for enjoyment, they do so because it is a means of validating their sense of existence. They need to read like health freaks need to jog and drug addicts need their needles. They are usually the shy, they are also the ones who used to follow us wherever we all went. They’re even here right now always reading silently but never ever once posting. This is very much a brotherhood phenomenon.

    Darkness referred to them as the “watchers” – he didn’t write to the loud mouth auntie who kept nagging why the third wife only had only one change of cheong sam. He wrote to the watchers because they were the silent 85%.

    No one likes to admit they are different, we all like to pretend we are picture perfect, I do it all the time myself and so do you, but the accidental hero in the 4 bit stories was shy, unsure, morose, but above all he was a watcher himself.

    What happens when you take that sense of being different into an imaginary world and because it is world you can neither share with your friends or your loved one’s. Then the authors though they are not present become your community.

    When one watcher read the testimony of another watcher, they step out momentarily from their bubble of everyday existence, they say, “wow, I feel like that too?” – time stops when a watcher reads, she is unaware of her own sense of vulnerability. She may feel a wave of shame after but for that moment, she steps out of herself and into another persons shoes, it could well be the third wife’s – it’s the same reason why the condemned are allowed the last puff or why a string quartered played on the deck of the titanic just before her death keel – it’s a crie de cour: as Goethe writes in “Faust” – “Presence is our duty, be it only a moment.”

    And this leads me to my point FC boys:
    How do you all expect to do this with a cartoon animation? You are all unrealistic.

  26. femmefatalefish said

    Yes scholarman to a certain extent a very perceptive summary. One which I suspect took out the wind from the sail and left many of them quite confounded.

    I might go on to add, what really unifies the reader with the writer in this case is not that the story can change anything but that it can preserve something. The thing being preserved depends on the reader; it may be as private “as my first date”- whatever the context is immaterial, providing that thing is preserved the tension between the reader and story remains – Flannery O’Connor referred to it as “mystery”.

  27. femmefatalefish said

    I kind of like harpoons fish tank metaphor – playing on this theme further, let us assume, blogosphere is the fish tank, all of us bloggers are the various species of fishes and let’s say this Tim is runs the site – we wouldn’t have the brotherhood so much as tankhood – speculating further what type of fish will George Yeo be?

  28. Atomic Monkey said

    “One which I suspect took out the wind from the sail and left many of them quite confounded.”

    Au contraire, Mademoiselle, surely a perceptive reader such as you would be aware of his oblique reference to a difficulties of potraying a heroine character in Marcel Proust continuous litany, A la recherche du temps perdu?

    He was merely stating the obvious was he not Mademoiselle?

    A stingray with a barbed repartee perhaps? I hear they spawn in great numbers just off the coast of Florida near to Cuba, very unsuitable specimen for domestication, I am afraid.

  29. scholarbrother said

    LoL – atomic chimp u r full of s#%t! –
    Yes, I must admit the roundness of the third wife’s hips and her shanghainess liquid brown eyes and long legs does conjure up images of an Odette, but really.

    He is not a fish, he is bouy that emits a burst of light on an interval basis, used primarily as markers recently adapted for tsunami detection purposes. Sorry no bond of fratenal tankhood – we only extend our courtesies to life forms and not robots.

  30. pumpman said

    I think when harphoon wrote abt Tim’s fish tank, he was fantasizing subconsciously about Sumiko’s fish, you know the one with the build in light bulb. Pls gentlemen do keep the water clean, it wouldn’t do to muck it up with filth. After all we all need to abide by the fraternal bonds of tankhood.

    G.Yeo isn’t a fish – he is a worm, but I like to believe for his courage, he may be perhaps, a glow worm.

  31. wholemealbread said

    FC boys,

    I think all of your are rude and crude. For one dont think, we cant read between the lines into your MCP sexist jokes. Another thing, you should learn to respect other people’s fishes, even if they do appear odd swimming around with torch lights.

    Above all you should all learn to respect the community of readers or stand losing them completely. We (the serious readers) are after all a diminishing lot whether you like to admit or not. As recently as 40 yrs ago, when the publication of Hemmingways The old man and the sea was a national event, movies and radio were still considered lowly forms of entertainments. In the 50’s and 60’s and I only read abt this, bc I am not that old myself, when movies became film and demanded to be taken seriously as medium of choice by the Bohemians, TV became the new low of the lows. Finally in the seventies with the vietnam war, watergate, patridge family and flipper, TV too made it’self an essential part of cultural literacy in singapore.

    Throughout this entire period of scouring, the educated, intelligent and single reader has largely diminished. Every viewer gained is a reader losted. You are absolutely right scholarman to suggest, there are those amongst us who simply have no choice but to read, but to put your yarn on a high and mighty pedestal and to suggest for one moment – it even reflects the weight of all our disturbed souls as serious readers ha! ha again and again! – or to suggest it is able to resolve our contemporary lag with the real and imagined world, ha! – seems to me a peculiarly delusion that largely afflicts the brothelhood (sorry brotherhood) who after all spend so much of their time horsing around in space, they simply need to come down to earth.

    I think all authors including your beloved furher can really do really is to aspire to write sentences of such authenticity that refuge can be taken in them by all and perhaps even himself – isnt this the real purpose of literature? Humility – so stop treating us like cattle and think you can plan and strategize yr way around us.

    YOU CANNOT!

    Disappointed & hoping to see a change for the better.

  32. harphoon said

    Miss bread,

    I have forwarded yr complaint to the customer service bureau of the brotherhood. Pls do not expect a speedy reply as the last postmaster was caught burying them underneath his floorboards. As you can see this is one area, we really need to brush up on.

    As for monkey’s denigrating MCP reference, rest assured he never once suggested anyone was actually Odette. He merely drew upon analogies, though I can well understand how this can interpreted as a crude reference.

    Only one needs to understand one of the main characters in the 4 bit story was actually a woman who certainly embodies some of her generous and well proportioned attributes – rest assured any association real or imagined to actual persons is deeply regretted.

    Responding to your main body of points – yes, we totally agree with you reading has been in decline. However, having said that we don’t believe Barney has killed off mothergoose, not completely at least. We still believe there will always be a core of serious readers who will always prefer the medium of the written word simply because there is no substitute for it’s versatility.

    The whole matter of animating the 4 bit series is still under discussion – we had a conference call last night and it still remains a very contentious issue. Many of the stakeholders believe we should experiment with an alternative media. Others remain adamant the format shouldn’t be changed. However, we shall most definitely take your points on board during the decision making process.

    As for your suggestion we are trying to manipulate our readers. This remains a ridiculous assertion and I hope you will understand why I cannot sensibly be expected to respond.

  33. scholarbrother said

    monkey wholemealbread sounds like one of those seriously cheezed off readers. I bet she is going down right now to suntec city to buy herself one of those do it yourself vodoo kits from the hatian contigent represented in the IMF meet – it comes with even free knitting needles – you should be more careful next time when you decide to crack MCP jokes. Meanwhile should you happen to feel a sharp sudden pain, guess no more.

    Wholemealbread you will be happy to know, I will be submitting a motion against the animation project. I agree with you, we have already lost too many readers to the new media and I am at least very encouraged by your insightful points.

  34. pumpman said

    George Yeo’s proxy appears to be soliciting for comments, but you notice when a comment is posted, it not posted.

    This only goes to show a few things, firstly, never get a boy to do a man’s job and another thing, if you want to do something minister, pls do it properly, otherwise don’t bother la. Apart from embarassing yourself, you do a great discredit to your party and the office you hold.

  35. pumpman said

    Just bear in mind one thing, the brother fears no one and we will always speak the truth.

  36. Atomic Monkey said

    Can the hog stop clogging up the single line? Pleeeeeeeeeeeze! Steamboy is your sis still surfing the net with the SL?

    Right, I am off to a flower bath. Meanwhile, I have to check out sumiko’s box.

    Scholarboy, understand this! We have to go animation. Unless you can offer us a compelling reason to consider doing otherwise, I really don’t see what are the options – we have spent too much time discussing this issue – we need to make $.

  37. scholarbrother said

    monkey u r referring to the xbox she just bought rite?

    Let me do some homework and I will revert to you on this point – all I am saying in certain scenes in the 4 bit story, it’s impossible to convey the texture of the mood using animation – yes, I still believe the way to go is through the written word – it worked perfectly before and I see no reason to change the format.

  38. darkness said

    If you have a point, put it forward. I don’t need the adulation of others, it is as meaningless and transient to me as the meditation of the wind – I dont need it. I have gone passed that stage.

    Think what are the ties that binds us all to those who choose to find lines with us?

    WHY IS THERE SO MUCH INDECISION?

    Scholarboy you have spoken show us now the evidence. I demand to see it.

    I am darkness.

  39. chronicler said

    By your command my lord darkness – allow me first to comsat the young scholar – I am sure he will do good to further explain his position. He is after all one of our brightest planners.

    Meanwhile, may I respectfully ask, how is your stay in beijing sir?

    By now I am sure you have notice even ministers are blogging here in sg, this I must admit is a thing even I cannot understand. Perhaps my lord you can provide us with a futuresense as to what all this means to us.

  40. inspir3d said

    hello brotherhood.

    you are turning the comments section of my blog posts into a personal chatroom. i would like to propose to create a dedicated page for your brotherhood so that you can use it for your ‘brotherhood discussions,’ instead of using the regular posts.

    if not, please refrain from these discussions that are unrelated to this blog

  41. darkness said

    “you are turning the comments section of my blog posts into a personal chatroom. i would like to propose to create a dedicated page for your brotherhood so that you can use it for your ‘brotherhood discussions,’ instead of using the regular posts.”

    Inspir, the privilege has been ours. We understand what you are trying to accomplish. You have shown remarkable equilibrium – this is something all brothers admire – the ability to see possibilities.

    We hope to align your goals with ours – we will make alot of money together.

    Allow me to conference with my men, there is much which we need to consider.

    Whatever the eventual outcome – a real world meeting must be arranged. There is much to discuss.

    Meanwhile, I have asked a question from scholarboy, allow the message capsule to pass. It is vital that we first resolve the deadlock – after that you have my word, we will abide by your rules.

    We always keep our word.

    Yours Respectfully

    Darkness

  42. darkness said

    I realize there is a need to clarify a few points. As we immerse ourselves in blogosphere. Otherwise we will all lose ourselves even here.

    POLITICS & POLITICIANS

    The necessary lie of every successful regime, including the upbeat techno-corporatism under which we no live, is that the PAP has made the world a better place. Tragic realism preserves the recognition improvement always comes at a cost; that nothing last forever; that if the good in the world outweighs the bad, it’s by the slimmest margins. I do not disagree this may be the case in the past, but it hardly applies to the present or future.

    I suspect the PAP has always had a particularly persuasive purchase on the Singaporean mind because ours is a country to which most people are simply unaware of the tragic realism of the great lie.

    People without hope not only don’t question, but what is more tragic, they don’t feel the need to engage the truth, because they lack the courage to do so. And we all know, the truth, will always set you free.

    I hope it’s clear that by “tragic” I mean just about any condition that raises more questions than it answers: anything in which conflict doesn’t resolve into cant. (indeed, the most reliable indicator of this “tragic realism” is the number of politico bloggers who still choose to believe in the existence of this great lie, “our government is in control and they can effect change” –comedy).

    What is fast emerging to those who choose to see through the veil of the great lie – is governments, not only in Singapore, but increasingly all around the world can no longer change anything or even determine the political, economic, social and technological destinies of their citizens.

    Think about it the entire notion of being able to command and control in a centralized fashion is a concept which is diametrically opposed to every fundamental tenet of globalization. The mathematics of globalization demands states subjugate their national interest for the good of the collective whole – thereby effectively relinquishing their capacity to command and control. They may be able to set the context or mark out the parameters and perhaps even choose to preserve the great lie, that they are still planning and strategizing some great master plan to intercept the future – but, they are just rain dancing.

    If globalization succeeds in making us a nation of independently empowered tribes, each tribe will be deprived the comfort of victimhood and be forced to confront human limitation for what it is: a fixture of life. There is no bubble that can stay unburst and no lie that can remain, the sooner all of you realize all those levers of power in the government cockpit are connected to nothing.

    The more convinced you are: they don’t even feature in the schema, the higher your level of political discernment and belief – real power to effect change is firmly in the palm of your hands – but so long as you continue to believe the government is larger than life, you will unwittingly buy into the great lie and even play your part to sustain it and make it real– as all lies need believers to turn the wheels of deception.

  43. scholarbrother said

    “the sooner all of you realize all those levers of power in the government cockpit are connected to nothing – the more convinced you are: they don’t even feature in the schema, the higher your level of political discernment and belief – real power to effect change is firmly in the palm of your hands”

    Brother darkness has characterized “politico bloggers” as “bovine” – he cites them for failing to make calculations to see through what he describes as “the great lie” i.e governments are increasingly losing their capacity to command and control the individual in an ever changing economic landscape brought forth by globalization.

    By failing to make these calculations he says, not only are they all acquiescing in part to this process of perceived “sovietization” (real or imagined?) of personal life?

    But in effect, they serve only to perpetuate the myth of the “great lie.” i.e that governments still play a role in relation to the individual.

    If that is the case, why do we (the brotherhood) all fear the day when the govt will project it’s influence in the internet? Shouldn’t we be confident enough to entomb this fear. After all as you mentioned governments can control nothing.(I am not as smart as you in making these harried calculations – perhaps you can explain the single line calculation that leads you to this conclusion?)

    He also mentions, he doesn’t even believe, the govt of the day features in the schema ???? Another way of saying, they are inconsequential.

    That is another way of saying, he doesn’t even believe the government can control events or even modulate outcomes by strategic planning which undoubtedly uses statistical methods. Hence he dismisses all their facile attempts, in one word that smacks of snake oil: “rain dancing” – as I understand it, (correct me if I am wrong) – what makes the illusion real in rain dancing isn’t so much what the medicine man does as what he chooses not to do i.e stop us seeing what we all choose to see – again what darkness is saying in not so many words is, we are the ones who provide the necessary lie which renders the reality in the illusion – he is saying we have no one to blame but our stupid selves, for foolishly buying into the ideal.

    So may I ask since we are simply imagining this pervasive climate where they feel (rightly or wrongly)even this post might be read, filed and documented by some zoo keeping govt agency – why can I (or millions of singaporeans) not help feeling, I am being watched even as I write now? Why do I need to restrain myself? (perhaps that too is a great lie: the infallibility of my own consciousness -again, I am not as smart as you to make such bovine calculations)

    Your report will be ready (you will excuse me, if I choose not to recognize your authority, as you know, I report directly to the council of the wise and not to the 100 fittest in the brotherhood) – nevertheless, rest assured we are working triple speed, though I hope, I given you enough to mull over – FYI the delay was not due to me.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
